“花园城市”新加坡如何处理生活垃圾?

新加坡土地极资源其稀缺,

在这个寸土寸金的地方,

全国产生的生活垃圾如何处理呢?

新加坡素有“花园城市”的美誉,随着人口增长,生活垃圾日益增多,如何妥善处理垃圾是新加坡这个城市国家面临的重要课题。

新加坡垃圾分类完全靠自愿?

在以法纪严明出名的新加坡,要做好垃圾分类并不难,明文规定赏罚分明即可:走在大街上,乱扔垃圾、违禁抽烟、地铁饮食……都有明确而严厉的惩处,让人不敢造次。然而,对于垃圾分类,却独独没有任何惩处措施,一切全靠自愿。而即便是所谓的分类,也只是简单的可回收物和不可回收物两种。

行的通吗?

新加坡国家环境局给出的答案非常简单:不希望再通过垃圾分类增加居民的义务,希望大家能主动做环保,为自己为家园,而而不是靠所谓奖励的刺激。尽管如此,新加坡政府对于如何减少垃圾总量可谓不遗余力。其垃圾处理以「3R原则」为核心,也就是Reduce、Reuse和Recycle,包括从源头减少垃圾的产生和尽量对垃圾进行循环利用等。

全国产生的生活垃圾如何处理呢?

为了这个问题,政府想了各种各样的办法,最后,建造出了一座出垃圾而不染的岛屿 。这个垃圾岛甚至还成为了一个热门旅游景点,这一切都源于新加坡政府建设和谐生态环境的理念。

新加坡人口总数约561万,平均下来全岛每人每天产生约 0.86 千克垃圾,这些垃圾被处理后都会运往一处海上垃圾场。实马高垃圾填埋场位于新加坡本​​岛以南的海面上,由实马高岛、锡金岛和一条人工海堤组成。这个耗资3.6亿美元的垃圾填埋场由锡京岛和实马高岛围建而成。是世界首个主要采用无机废料即来自新加坡四个垃圾焚化场的灰烬连接成的小岛 。

是如何运​​转的呢?

新加坡全国每天产生的垃圾量约1.7万吨,其中56%被回收利用,不能回收的垃圾中,41%运去焚化,不可燃物则进行填埋。现在新加坡全国有4座正在运营的垃圾焚化厂,每天焚化量达到6900吨。焚化后产生1600吨的灰烬,会被运到岸外的实马高岛进行填埋。

焚化时间约45分钟-90分钟,焚化产生的热量会进行回收发电,其中20%本厂利用,其余的80%并入电网。这些电力能够满足整个新加坡3%的供电需求。经过焚烧后的垃圾体积缩减了90%,垃圾灰烬和不能燃烧的垃圾会收集起来。

在新加坡,垃圾焚烧厂周围的环境并没有遭到破坏,新加坡的垃圾填埋技术也值得借鉴。实马高岛是一个用垃圾填出来的人造岛,在这个像公园一样的人造岛下面,掩埋着近千万吨经焚烧后的废弃垃圾。由于环保做得成功,这里已经成为热门旅游景点。

不辜负‘花园城市’的美名! ! !

新加坡不是第一个利用填海处理垃圾的国家,与其他地方不同的的是在新加坡的锡京岛和实马高岛上所采取的运作模式是一边填埋垃圾,一边进行生态旅游的建设。在岛上为游客展示的更多是与环保相关的科研知识,及生态相关内容,吸引了许多闻名而来的游客及研究人员。由于成功的解决了世界各国都面临的固体垃圾处理问题,实马高岛获得了来自各方的赞誉。新加坡国家环保局预计,实马高岛垃圾填埋场至少可以使用到2045 年。

How does “Garden City” Singapore handle their domestic waste?

Singapore’s land resources are extremely scarce,

In this place where inch of land worth a gold

How do they deal with domestic garbage produced in the country?

 

Singapore is known as the “garden city” in the world. With the population growth and the increasing amount of household garbage, how to properly dispose of garbage is an important issue facing the city of Singapore.

 

Singapore garbage sorting is all about voluntary?

In Singapore, it is famous for its strict laws and regulations. It is clear that the rewards and punishments can be clearly defined: its have clear and severe punishment for walking on the street, littering, smoking ban, eating at subway… But there is no punishment for the classification of garbage, and everything depends on voluntariness. Even the so-called classification is simply a combination of recyclables and non-recyclables.

 

Is this possible?

The answer given by the Singapore National Environment Agency was very simple: they don’t want to increase the residents’ obligations through garbage sorting and hope that everyone can take the initiative to do environmental protection, and for their own home. Despite this, the Singapore government has tried their best in reducing the amount of garbage. In Singapore, the garbage disposal is based on the “3R principle”, which is Reduce, Reuse and Recycle, including reducing the generation of garbage from the source and recycling the garbage as much as possible.

How to deal with domestic garbage produced in the country?

In order to solve this problem, the government thought of various methods. Finally, they build an actual ‘island’ which is the world’s first ecological offshore landfill. This island has even become a popular tourist attraction; thislandfillis specially designed by engineers and environmentalists from Singapore’s National Environment Agency (NEA).

 

Singapore has a population of about 5.61 million. On average, the country produces about 0.86 kilograms of garbage per person per day. This garbage are disposed and transported to a marine dump. The Semakau Landfill is Singapore’s first and only landfill situated offshore among the southern islands of Singapore. It covers a total area of 3.5 square kilometers and has a capacity of 63 million m³. To create the required landfill space, a 7km perimeter rockbundwas built to enclose a part of the sea between Pulau Semakau andPulau Sakeng. The solid waste materials, after they have been properly segregated, are sent to the WTE plants for incineration.

How does it work?

The amount of garbage produced in Singapore is about 17,000 tons per day, of which 56% is recycled. Garbage that cannot be recycled is shipped for incineration, and non-combustible materials are land filled. There are currently four garbage disposal infrastructure is composed with an incineration capacity of 6,900 tons per day. After incineration, 1,600 tons of ash will be produced and will be transported to the shore of Pulau Semakau for landfill.

 

The incineration time is about 45 minutes to 90 minutes. The heat generated by incineration will be recovered and generated, of which 20% will be used by the factory and the remaining 80% will be integrated into the grid. This power can meet the electricity demand of 3% of Singapore. The volume of garbage after incineration is reduced by 90%, and garbage ash and incombustible garbage are collected.

 

In Singapore, the environment around the waste incineration has not been destroyed, and Singapore’s landfill technology is also worth learning. Pulau Semakau is a man-made island filled with garbage. Under this artificial island is like a park, nearly 10 million tons of burnt waste is buried. Due to the success of environmental protection, it has become a popular tourist attraction.

 

Don’t live up to the ‘Garden City’ reputation! ! !

Singapore is not the first country to use land reclamation to dispose garbage. Unlike other places, the operation mode on Singapore’s Pulau Sakeng andPulau Semakau is to build land for garbage while building eco-tourism. More information on environmentally relevant research and ecological related content is displayed on the island, attracting many famous tourists and researchers. Thanks to the successful solution to the problem of solid waste disposal in all countries of the world, Pulau Semakau has received praise from all parties. The Singapore National Environmental Protection Agency estimates that the Pulau Semakau Landfill can be used at least until 2045.